Currently reading | July

So, here’s the deal: at any given time, chances are, I’m reading between two and five books, and I use the term ‘reading’ very loosely here.

Here, reading can mean anything ranging from currently reading, to began reading and forgot about for this other one, to made it through the first page and haven’t touched in months now.

Either way, what I want to do is keep a chronicle of what I’m, loosely, reading. Maybe with some ideas about why I’m reading it and what I’m thinking of it so far. So, think of it less like a book review section and more like a book diary.

So, for the month of July, here’s what I’m currently reading:

Moody Bitches by Julie Holland

Moody Bitches is a book best described through its novel-length subtitle: The Truth About the Drugs You’re Taking, The Sleep You’re Missing, The Sex You’re Not Having, and What’s Really Making You Crazy. That’s pretty much it. As described, folks. Holland’s dive into the lives, loves and medications of modern women is a tricky one but every now and then she throws out tiny nuggets of weird and wonderful lady-wisdom that are worth the iffy bits. Like, did you know you should be attracted to your partner’s smell (gross) and appealing to that can help calm you down in an argument? BUT being on the pill can bugger that right up? You do now. Thanks, Julie.

Purity by Jonathan Franzen

Now, this bad boy falls solidly into the “began reading and forgot about pile”. At a monstrous and intimidating 600 pages, a book that was supposed to carry me through a mere week-long trip to Japan has become a marathon journey that has now taken me past the six-month mark. Somewhat to the contrary, I’ve liked what I’ve read so far. I grabbed Purity after reading the jewel in Franzen’s literary crown, Freedom, in a university class in later 2014 and absolutely loving it. What I loved about Freedom was Franzen’s ability to inject interest, intrigue and investment into the every day and, so far, there’s definitely elements of that in Purity, though it’s somewhat derailed by a main character I’m finding very difficult to like. Maybe that, in combination with the intimidating length, has gone some way towards my inability to finish the book but I really do hope I’ll get there (at least before the end of the year!).

Zero K by Don DeLillo

I love Don DeLillo. I just do. Ever since reading White Noise in an undergraduate course I was totally hooked and I’m not ashamed to say I bought his latest work, Zero K, the day it was released in Australia (though, I thought it was going to be released the day after and stumbled upon it by accident so, -1 to me in the end). Despite that, this one falls into the category of sitting on my bedside table for weeks now and I really need to get a move on with it!

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg

Ansari and Klinenberg’s Modern Romance is what I’ll be reading while I should be reading Zero K. Around the middle of last year I became obsessed with listening to the audiobooks of famous women in the American comedy scene. It was a very specific niche, I know, but in the space of about a month and a half, I ploughed through Tina Fey’s autobiography, Amy Pohler’s autobiography, Mindy Kaling’s two autobiographies and Lena Dunham’s book. While these were all great books for very different reasons I like to think of my interest in Modern Romance as a hangover from those days sprinkled with my love of Ansari’s television work.

Leave a Reply

