King Arthur Cafe | Fortitude Valley

So, today, I finally made it back to King Arthur Cafe and this time I was even focused enough to tear myself away from the sparse interior and gorgeous baked goods to remember to take a photo or two! It’s a modern day miracle.

I love King Arthur Cafe. I love the beautiful, tubular upstairs interior; I love the tiny repurposed jars of sugar on every table; I love the delicious baked goods that they force you to walk past as you leave, and I love the food.

Well before you yell it at me from across the playground, yes I very well would marry it, seeing as I love it so much if it wasn’t for one, small tiny thing. King Arthur Cafe commit, what I consider to be, the cardinal breakfast sin: only one piece of toast with your two poached eggs. It has never made sense to me and it never well. Eggs and bread (for those of us still blessed by a healthy relationship with gluten) go hand in hand. One egg = one piece of toast. Two eggs = two pieces of toast. It’s just how the world has always been and without our diligent adherence to that basic breakfast equation, the very structures of our society begin to crumble around us.

Nevertheless, I can never tear myself away from King Arthur.

14329324_10154172667387535_1057013466_o

This time I went with the cinnamon french toast and it did not disappoint. A whole, juicy poached pear jostled for space with fried pineapple, fresh strawberries and vanilla mascarpone.

And there were two pieces of toast! Hazar! Consider that cardinal sin banished from the breakfast kingdom… for now.

Conveniently, you’ll find these guys at 164c Arthur St, Fortitude Valley. They’re open 7 days a week from 7am 

Facebook: King Arthur Cafe
Instagram: Kingarthurcafe

Leave a Reply

