Currently reading | November

My reading habits in November have been noticeably dismal. Having pushed through the final crush of university exams, I’ve languished a little too much in all the time I have for straight-up laziness now. I’m also fully prepared to blame my laziness on my new found, and fully-fledged, addiction to HBO’s Westworld.

I did manage to push my way through one (and a half) books, which I’ve listed below:

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood

I was disappointed with this The Heart Goes Last but, to be honest, it may be my own fault. Reading Marget Atwood’s latest work directly after her most iconic (The Handmaid’s Tale) was probably not the wisest of ideas but this wasn’t just a case of The Heart Goes Last not living up to Handmaid’s reputation. Regardless of its predecessor, it felt messy: at times funny, often bizarre, but almost always to the detriment of what had the potential to be a scathing and poignant commentary on the cyclical prison system. The Heart Goes Last feels like a book that’s somewhat lost, torn between too many tones and too many objectives almost all of which it loses along the way.

All This Has Nothing to Do with Me by Monica Sabolo

I’m currently halfway through this one, which, as it’s only 100 pages, is pretty indicative of my November reading habits. The book is broken into several parts and follows a sort of case-file structure collecting spatterings of narrative and visual evidence of a relationship as it progresses and falls apart. Part one is made up of short snippets of narrative, intercepted by emails, letters and photographs and this constant intercutting makes it a little difficult to follow how the narrative is actually progressing, if at all, in terms of time and MS and XX’s relationship. I am only half way through the book though so I’m yet to see if this sporadic structure serves a larger purpose or if it’s simply an aesthetic choice that I don’t really gel with. With that said, parts two and four break into a much fuller narrative and this is where Sabolo is strongest, crafting elegant and poetic prose.

I’ve also finally linked my Goodreads account to the sidebar on my blog’s homepage! So, even when my reading habits are horrid it’s easy to keep track of what I’m planning on reading when I do, finally, make it off the couch.

Leave a Reply

